In advance of Sponsors & Past Players Day on Saturday, 3rd December 2022, this week we’re taking a look back at the 2007/08 A Grade Premiership.

In the grand final Wistow took on the old enemy, Hahndorf at home on the Hill.  Batting first, we compiled a solid total of 215, with strong contributions coming from opener Todd “Rodders” Heinrich (38), captain Brett “Barrel” Lynn (25) and Andrew Muller (41), whilst Wayne “Willow” Willis top scored with 60.

In response, Wistow’s opening bowlers, Andrew Frohling (2/49) and Steven Nettle (4/48), made regular and early inroads to leave Hahndorf teetering at 5/32 and again at 8/95, before Hahndorf’s lower order made a spirted fightback, leading to a few nervous moments before Hahndorf were eventually bowled out for 171 with Andrew Muller also chipping in with 2/27.

This Premiership was Wistow’s 5th A Grade Premiership in 13 years (and 4th in 8 years), marking Willow’s 5th A Grade Premiership, the 4th for Wayne “Myla” Miels and Ben Judd, the 3rd for Brett Lynn, Andrew Muller and Jason Elsworthy and the 2nd for Steven Nettle.

We would love to see premiership players Todd Heinrich, Kym Heinrich, Ben Judd, Brett Lynn, Andrew Muller, Wayne Willis, Wayne Miels, Jason Elsworthy, Simon Nunan, Andrew Frohling and Steven Nettle and all other past players up at the Hill on 3rd December to celebrate and re-live the glory days!